Carat Size Chart

Carat (Ct) is the unit of mass (weight) of gemstones. 1 carat is currently equal to 0.2 grams or 200 milligrams. One carat is divided into 100 points, for example, 50 points is 0.5 carat, which is used to calculate smaller gemstones. Because the densities of gemstones are essentially the same, heavier gems tend to be larger. The larger the gemstone, the rarer it is and the higher its value per carat. According to research, the unit name of carat originated in the West African country of Ghana in the 13th century, and its capital, Accra, was the world's earliest gold and diamond distribution center. Due to language communication barriers between countries, trading place names are used as units of measurement.

The measurement unit of moissanite is the same as that of diamond.

Carat weight:

1 carat = 200 mg = 0.2 grams. Diamonds weighing less than 1 carat are usually measured in points, with 1 carat = 100 points.

Diamond size:

25-point : diameter approximately 4.1mm, height 2.5mm;

30-point: diameter approximately 4.5mm, height 2.7mm;

50-point: diameter approximately 5.2mm, height 3.1mm;

70-point: diameter approximately 5.8mm, height 3.5mm;

1 carat: diameter approximately 6.5mm, height 3.9mm;

2 carat: diameter approximately 8.2mm, height 4.9mm;

3 carat: diameter approximately 9.4mm, height 5.6mm;

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.